Nilah

DSC_9827 wm

I’m waiting for the day Mgeni from Sansahash designs something I don’t love, (I don’t think it will ever come) and the new Nilah pattern is certainly not it! The curved hem that comes up at the sides, like a shirt dress is a favorite design feature, and the slight high-low makes it even better.

DSC_9837 wm

The bodice is lined. There are no bindings or facings. This is quick to sew. The sleeve options include sleeveless, short, 3/4, or long. I made both of my versions 3/4 sleeve, accidentally. I was planning on making  along sleeve version after my 3/4 sleeve one, but I was cutting late at night, while talking to my brother, and I grabbed the wrong sleeve pattern piece. I will just save my long sleeve version for some pretty sweater knit I want to use!

Sizes include 6mo-12. The pattern is on sale for $5.50 through next Thursday!

My first version is the floral double brushed poly. I LOVE this print so much, and don’t see too much of it sewn up. I bought it a while ago from Pretty Posh Prints. I love florals, but they are kind of ALL OVER right now, so I’m ready for new prints. I still love this one because I haven’t seen it too much 🙂 And I have more left over to sew something for me too!

DSC_9862 wmDSC_9881 wmDSC_9846 wmDSC_9888 wmDSC_9851 wm

The second version is cotton lycra on the bodice, and I used this amazing vertical stripe vintage polyester for the skirt. I’ve had this fabric for several years, I picked it up at a church garage sale for a quarter! It’s been waiting for the right project 🙂

DSC_9953 wmDSC_9962 wm

The church down the street has a sale every fall, and I walk to it every fall, because who misses church garage sales on their block?? The first year we moved back from South Dakota was the first year I went, I think, and there was tons of fabric, none of it priced. I think I had $3 cash, because I hadn’t known their sale was coming up. I started picking out some fabrics, and stopped to go ask how much it was, and they said it’s a quarter per cut. So, I was able to fill up a banker box full of fabric and paid $3! Haha! Some of the cuts were at least 2 yards each. I’m still sewing from some of those fabrics. I always have a harder time cutting into the vintage pieces because I know they can’t be replaced!

DSC_9979 wmDSC_9958 wmDSC_9955 wmDSC_9975 wmDSC_9965 wmDSC_9972 wm

I hope you’ll check out the Nilah pattern, and I know you’ll love it if you make it!

Nilah

Fabric sources:

Floral DBP: Pretty Posh Prints

Cotton lycra: Stylish Fabric

Stripe polyester: vintage

 

 

2 thoughts on “Nilah”

  1. Liesel the feeling is mutual. I’m always waiting to see what you can do with our designs and you are just amazing all the way ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

