Kamaria

DSC_3374 wm

I was so excited to see that Mgeni is branching out to design patterns for her own company. Her style is perfect, and her versions of many patterns were what sold me on the design 🙂 The first pattern from Sansahash is Kamaria. This is a top, dress, or sunsuit pattern, and really, you could just make the skirt on it’s own, so technically 4 patterns in one! The dress and sunsuit can be made with a ruffled waist instead if you prefer. I’m always seeing people ask for this style waist, so I know it will be popular!

The bodice has a single inverted pleat at the slight v-neck. And has halter ties, and elastic in the top of the back bodice. The sunsuit has optional snaps for smaller sizes. The construction is really simple, and the results are so elegant!

I made three versions in testing. The first was made from red and white gingham, with a white skirt. I knew my daughter who wants to be a cowgirl would love these fabrics, especially if she paired it with boots, and I love it on her! There was a little excess fabric taken out of the back after this version, so it’s not as “poufy.” The next version I made was the pink dress. I also knew my daughter would love this because it’s pink, and the pink came straps are so her style as well! This was an old flat sheet. I love sewing with sheets because you can pick them up for free or cheap, and often you can find fun vintage prints too!

The top I made with the final version of the pattern. This one I made with 100% rayon I found in the denim section at Joann. I used the “backside” of the fabric, because the color was softer, and so much prettier to me. The drape is absolutely perfect for this pattern. I did lengthen the straps on this top, because I knew the rayon would make them hang beautifully!

This new pattern is on sale for $5 through Sunday! I love how perfect this style is on older girls, and equally adorable on babies! You can get your copy in their easy shop, though soon they will be on their own website! https://www.etsy.com/shop/Sansahash?ref=l2-shopheader-name

DSC_3326 wmDSC_3470 wmDSC_3345 wmDSC_3292 wmDSC_3495 wmDSC_3360 wmDSC_3298 wmDSC_3516 wmDSC_3315 wmDSC_3472 wmDSC_3352 wmDSC_3477 wmDSC_3299 wmDSC_3480 wmDSC_3343 wmDSC_3512 wmDSC_3306 wmDSC_3481 wmDSC_3294 wmDSC_3485 wmDSC_3379 wm

Kamaria

Fabric sources:

White skirt: flat sheet

Pink dress: flat sheet

Pink came: friend’s stash

Red gingham: vintage

Chambray rayon: Joann’s

 

3 thoughts on “Kamaria”

Leave a Reply

